First stop: London!

Holy cow, the last few days have been amazing and indescribable!  It is still a little weird to think that I have been across the an ocean and on the other side of the world, but it is finally sinking in.  London was so much fun, even though we were only there for a few days I can’t believe how much we were able to squish in to just a few days!  

Once we finally all found each other in the airport, we took the underground to our hotel.  I am so glad we bought an unlimited pass because we used the tube to get to pretty much everywhere we went while we were in London.  We first went to our hotel.  Super cute, but it was truly the tiniest room and bathroom I had ever seen!  We got to pull our 50 pound bags  up four flights of stairs to our room, so that was an experience as well!  

Image

 

Image

 

Image

On our first day were pretty exhausted from our trips, so we went to church, ate and and explored a little and called it an early night.  Monday, we woke up and headed out to get our double decker bus tour tickets.  I enjoyed this so much, it was narrated and took us by all the major tourist attractions in London.  Here is us as we rode across the Tower Bridge on our bus!

Image

 

We stopped at the tower of London and saw the crown Jewels!  Here is us with some beefeaters inside the tower!

Image

After this we took a scenic cruise down the river Thames and went to see Big Ben, Westminster Abbey, and Buckingham palace!  It was crazy actually being at these places that I have seen countless times in books and movies, and I am so grateful for the opportunity we had to go to London.

Image

 

On Tuesday Lexi joined us from Paris, and we rode the subway to platform 9 3/4.  It was so much fun!  They had a line for pictures and people who acted as if they were actually sending you off.  They had scarves you could wear, and a store where you could buy all sorts of harry potter paraphernalia.  We took so many pictures here!  

ImageImage

Later on we checked out the National Gallery.  After my semi-painful humanities class this last semester, I thought I hated all things art. But seriously, seeing the original work of van Gogh, Constable, Monet, Caravaggio, and other world famous artists, I was humbled and blown away.  Here we are in front of the gallery 🙂

Image

 

Since Lexi missed the day we went and saw Westminster Abbey, we stopped by to get a picture on our way back to the hotel.

Image

To end our stay in London, we went to Wicked!  I completely and absolutely loved it!  I was on such a high after that show.  I love musicals, and seeing one in the west end of London was so worth it!  Overall London was such a great experience, and I am so glad I got to travel there with Shellie, Kate, and Lexi.  I love those girls!

Wednesday was completely devoted to traveling to Romania.  I am now settled in to my apartment in the city of Iasi and so excited to get started with everything I am going to be doing this summer.  Unfortunately (or fortunately), Romania is celebrating Easter right now and things will be closed until the 7th of May because of this holiday, so we will probably not be able to get in to the orphanage until later next week.  This is a little sad, but we will be able to get some great exploring and traveling in before then, so I am excited for everything ahead!  

 

One thought on “First stop: London!

  1. Allison Cox says:

    Thanks it is such a good idea to start a blog. I enjoyed looking and reading about London. Good luck with the orphanage. Those kids could not of got someone better. Miss you and love you 🙂 stay safe.

Leave a Reply

